South Metropolitan Higher Education Consortium

South Metropolitan Higher Education Consortium

Three Decades of Higher Education Excellence Through Collaboration


 GSU photos and logo 2Fixed                          

MVCC official D344CAM032Fixed

SMHEC members are diverse in types and missions , extending geographically from the south side of Chicago, west to beyond Joliet, south of Kankakee, and east to the Indiana border.


 IIT downtown2FixedAboutPagesm


Founded in 1992, the Consortium fosters new and enhanced educational services and programs to citizens, businesses and other institutions in the Chicago metropolitan southland region. Through institutional collaboration, the Consortium focuses on programs that promote college readiness, support college completion, enhance educational opportunities and identify economies and efficiencies that result in streamlining and cost savings.



The South Metropolitan Higher Education Consortium (SMHEC) is a unique partnership of 10 higher education institutions:

Five public community colleges:

One public university:

One for-profit university:

and three private universities: